Club History



  • The Rotary club of Moonah was charted by ROTARY INTERNATIONAL on the 29th January 1955.
  • The date of the FORMATION of the club was the 16th November 1954.
  • Our sponsor club was the RC of Hobart
  • MRC was charted with 24 members
  • Harry Arnold was the first “Charter” president of MRC & He continued on the following Rotary year (1954/55 & 1955/56)
  • RCM has sponsored two other clubs “New Norfolk” chartered in 1959, and “Glenorchy” Chartered in 1964.
  • On the 21st June 1971 a charter was presented for a MOONAH ROTARACT CLUB with 26 members. The 1st club president was David Miller. The club recessed in the early 1980’s.
  • The Moonah ROTARIANNES were the wives of the Moonah Rotary Club Rotarian’s.  the club was founded on 1st February 1961 and went into recess in April 1989.
  • The First Tasmanian (9830) FEMALE DISTRICT GOVERNOR came from the club.  Muriel Heron was the 9830 District Governor in 2004/05.

Rotarian Stan Sheppard, 1959/60 Past President Ken Lowrie, 1970/71 PP Merv Floyed, 1956/57 PP Keith Dickenson, 1965/66 PP Harold Carter, 1977/78 PP Kevin Quon

Past president’s of Moonah club taken in 2010.

PP Keith Dickenson aged 101 years.

Past President Harold Carter. Taken at club meeting Nov 2010


1954/55   Harry Arnold

1955/56    Harry Arnold

1956/57   Keith Dickenson

1957/58   Neil M Reynolds

1958/59   Wal J Bowman

1959/60  Ken F Lowrie

1960/61  Ian B Mcdonald

1961/62  David F Ellis

1962/63  Owen Grahame

1963/64  Don R Walters

1064/65  Walter Hill

1965/66  A. Harold Carter

1966/67  Jack E Dean

1967/68  Algie C Rothwell

1968/69  Ian Robinson

1969/70  Stan W Gough

1970/71  Merv S Floyd

1971/72  Reg D Barker

1972/73  H.C. Bert Stevens

1973/74  Gerry E Walters

1974/75  Lou J Jelfs

1975/76  Vic N Fize

1976/77  W.D. Mark Cook

1977/78  Kevin G Quon

1978/79  Kevin J Frazer

1979/80  Allan W Leth

1980/81  Geoff  N Hurd

1981/1982  A.E. Tony Cotton

1982/83  A J Parkinson

1983/84  E W Bing White

1984/85 Gerry F Haley

1985/86  Alan C Wills

1986/87  Gordon Stewert

1987/88   Brian Clegg

1988/89   Keith Walters

1989/90   Denis McKercher

1990/91   Tom Clifford

1991/92   Michael Gentile

1992/93  Michael Spencer

1993/94   Ken Webster

1994/95   Ian Mansfield

1995/96  Mike Walpole

1996/97   Barry Titmus

1997/98  Mike Patten

1998/99   Brian Medwin

1999/2000 Muriel Heron

2000/01   Bev Wills

2001/02   John Parr

2002/03   Peter Hall

2003/04   Charmaine White

2004/05  Elisabeth Ardern

2005/06   Wally van Schie

2006/07   Nigel Hyland

2007/08   Frank Hill

2008/09  Frank Hill

2009/10   Wally van Schie

2010/11   Elisabeth Ardern

Go to our PHOTO GALLERY FOR SOME GREAT PHOTO’S ON THE HISTORY of our club, as well as copies of the first 50 years of the clubs achievements.

Comments are closed